“The best relationships are not just about the good times you share, they’re also about the obstacles you go through together, and the fact that you still say…” I love you,’’ in the end. And loving somebody isn’t about saying it every day, its showing it every day in every way…..’’

broken heart

 

With my cup refilled and Thanking God its Friday, I come ready for Part two of The Love Story….

FACT: I was born in the city so I Can’t say am deeply rooted into culture. My father (rest his soul) always said…’’we don’t choose where we are born, and that, we are born without any state of mind, and that the society fills the ways of mankind to us.’’

Penina had succumbed to family pressure. …this is where problems began and drifted us apart.

One evening I called her from work to notify her I will be arriving in 20 minutes time so that she will be ready to open the gate in time. On arriving I called her several times without any response, but she opened after a while…,

Of course things went downhill 

The next day she was off duty so she was to see her sister. The plan was that we to go to town together so as she goes to see her sis, I branch off to work. I decided to go alone and leave her behind; this brought another serious dent on our already strained relationship. She got so mad that she decided to go sleep at her sister’s place for 2 days.

“Anyone can become angry – that is easy, but to be angry with the right person, to the right degree, at the right time, for the right purpose, and in the right way- that is never easy…..”

Later we smoothed things over and she came back. Just under 2 days again quarrels began, we were in the same house but not talking to each other. Our arguments were conveyed through texting each other. My temper rose to a point I told Penina to go away and never come back. She granted me my wish. I later came to regret what I did and deeply apologized for that heinous mistake. Penina was deeply wounded by that incident that she decided never again to rekindle our relationship.

 

A happy man marries the girl he loves, but the happier man loves the girl he marries… the latter is true given the circumstance that our relationship was dying as a result of family pressure, it was a ticking bomb of which i accelerated the timer. I created the fracas so as to set Penina free from the tyranny of family. When you love somebody this much, sacrifice for freedom is necessary, so that she can follow the family’s will and marry the person of their liking. However for true friendship she could have found in her heart to forgive her dearest love. Friendship is not a gift but it is through hard work that bonds are built. Friendship endures a lot to build unbreakable bonds. Someday or rather in the next life when am of the same tribe i will marry my dearest Penina.

As I sign off on this story and with my box of Kleenex, It saddens me that Tribal issues still manage to take a great toll amongst us. What are you going to do as an individual……??????

In Love and Light,

Pauline

